A Message From PI Founder, Nicole:

I want to remind you that God created you for a huge purpose, and He WILL use you to build His kingdom! You are meant to shine!

How to know God.

 

Favorite Period Dramas? aka: Fans of Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell, etc, UNITE!

Home Forums Life, Love & Girlfriends Random Thoughts and Questions Favorite Period Dramas? aka: Fans of Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell, etc, UNITE!

This topic contains 12 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Nate 1 year, 10 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
Author Posts
lotr1997

lotr1997

So I have been on a total period drama kick these last few days. Basically I have been like: WATCH ALL THE JANE AUSTEN AND WATCH ALL THE THINGS!!!!!!
So it got me wondering, do any of y’all like these type of movies/shows/books? Does anyone else LOVE them? What are your favorites? And does it dishearten anyone else when you realize that these dramas have set very high standards for the men in you life? XD I mean, come on! You can’t get much better than Mr. Knightley or Mr. Darcy!

January 24, 2015 at 18:37
lotr1997

lotr1997

And my favorites are:

Jane Austen –
Pride and Prejudice (Film and book)
Mansfield Park (The BBC film… from 2006 I think?)
Emma (The BBC miniseries from 2009 and the movie from 1995)

Charlotte Bronte-
Jane Eyre (The BBC miniseries)

Elizabeth Gaskell
North and South (The BBC miniseries and the book) (MR. THORNTON… *SWOON*)
Cranford/Return to Cranford (TV show)
Wives and Daughters (Miniseries)

January 24, 2015 at 18:40
GypsyStorm

GypsyStorm

I love Jane Austins books. I have seen the Pride and Prejudice movie, and if I remember correctly the Sense and Sensibility movie. But of course they don’t do justice to the books. 🙂

January 25, 2015 at 07:02
Writer_Girl

Writer_Girl

Yes, yes, yes!!! I LOVE Jane Austen. My favorite of her works is Pride and Prejudice, with Emma coming in at a close second. I’ve seen adaptations of all of them, but my favorites are the 2005 P&P, the 1995 P&P, and the BBC Emma mini-series. I also love North and South, both the mini-series and the book. 🙂

January 25, 2015 at 11:37
lotr1997

lotr1997

Does anyone have a favorite hero? I mean, Mr. Darcy is great, but I think Mr. Knightely (Emma), Mr. Thornton (North and South), and Roger Hamley (Wives and Daughters) are my favorites! XD

January 25, 2015 at 12:04
marysetrueblood

marysetrueblood

Ohhhh I adore the three-part Great Expectations with Douglas Booth and Gillian Anderson in it. Also the TV Series Downton Abbey, though it isn’t based off a book. And the Jane Eyre Film with Jamie Bell in it, it’s just GORGEOUS.
My favorite hero remains, mostly, Mr Darcy. I relate. I’ve been told I have, to be summed up, an unintentional “Resting Witch Face” that makes me look mean, though I’m generally a very soft-spoken person. And that’s basically Mr. Darcy. He comes off as brooding and mysterious, but he’s mostly just shy and smart and has a silly first name.
That said, I read Jane Austen like no tomorrow. And Lord Byron, and Percy & Mary Shelley, and Oscar Wilde. The Romantics & The Victorians are basically my favorite literary movements EVER.

January 26, 2015 at 04:39
lotr1997

lotr1997

I have heard some good things about Downton Abbey, but I don’t think I’m prepared to have my heart crushed by another TV show. xD Well, this isn’t technically a period drama, but I love this Canadian series called Murdoch Mysteries! And I guess Agent Carter would count as a period drama as well?

January 26, 2015 at 05:11
Lostinthesound

Lostinthesound

ooooh yes! I just bought the book Wuthering Heights this weekend and I can’t wait to start that! I’m also borrowing Les Miserables from a friend and I’m going to start that tonight. I actually have not read Pride and Prejudice yet but I have it, and I’m always planning on reading it but I never get past the first chapter because I have this horrible habit of starting it when I’m super busy :p

January 26, 2015 at 10:27
Jazspell

Jazspell

I looooove that time period. Which version of “Pride and Prejudice” do you like better: the BBC 1995 one or the 2005 film? It’s the 2005 one for me 🙂

January 27, 2015 at 14:08
marysetrueblood

marysetrueblood

1995 P&P <3. Colin Firth is a favorite actor of mine, so he wins. He was Ernest in The Importance of Being Earnest. Also Henry in Dorian Gray, and was in the Mamma Mia movie and Love Actually. TBH if you want me to like a movie, put Colin Firth in it. He's just brilliant as an actor.

As for Downton, it has completely ruined me. All my darling favorite characters can't be happy for more than a moment, and it's SO GOOD. I just. Oh my, I cry so often.

January 27, 2015 at 17:29
lotr1997

lotr1997

I think I like the 2005 version better, though I agree with Mary that Colin First was FANTASTIC as Mr. Darcy. I mean, THAT SMOULDER!!!!!

January 28, 2015 at 18:42
marysetrueblood

marysetrueblood

RIGHT?! I like how it was like… Accurate, accurate, accurate–COLIN FIRTH IN A WET SHIRT–accurate, accurate.
I think my issue with the 2005 one is I’m not sure I like Kiera Knightley as Elizabeth. She was a bit stiff yknow? Maybe it as just that she differed from how I pictured Elixabeth in the book to behave.

January 29, 2015 at 15:48
Nate

Nate

You HAVE to watch Lorna Doone. The book is pretty awesome too. 😀

February 1, 2015 at 11:02
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.